CarGalaxies.com Head Banner
CarGalaxies.com
One Stop Place
for All Drivers!
CarGalaxies.com Logo
Liked this page? Share it with friends:



Below is a list of the General Driving License Laws for each US state and DC. The information is grouped in four main sections:

  1. Age-related restrictions
  2. Night time-related restrictions
  3. Passenger-related restrictions
  4. Mandatory behind-the-wheel practice hours to be logged to get the driving license.

StateAge-related RestrictionsNighttime RestrictionsPassenger RestrictionsMandatory Practice Hours to be Logged
Learner's PermitRestricted
License
Full
License
Alabama15 years16 years16½ yearsmidnight-6 amno more than 1 passenger30 hours or take driver training with permit.
Alaska14 years16 years16½ years1 am-5 amfirst 6 months—no passengers40 hours
Arizona15½ years16 years16½ yearsmidnight-5 am
* secondary enforcement
first 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 18
* secondary enforcement
30 hours or take driver education.
Arkansas14 years16 years16½ years11 pm - 4 amno more than 1 passenger 
California15½ years16 years18 years11 pm-5 am
* secondary enforcement
first 12 months—no passengers younger than 20 (limited exception for immediate family)
* secondary enforcement
50 hours including 10 nighttime hours
Colorado15 years16 years17 yearsmidnight-5 am
* secondary enforcement
first 6 months—no passengers; second 6 months—no more than 1 passenger
* secondary enforcement
50 hours
Connecticut16 years16 years, 4 months18 years11 pm-5 amfirst 6 months—no passengers other than parents or a driving instructor;
second 6 months—no passengers other than parents, driving instructor, or members of the immediate family
40 hours
Delaware16 years16½ years17 years10 pm-6 amno more than 1 passenger50 hours
District of Columbia16 years16½ years21 years
September–June:
11 pm-6 am Sun–Thu, 12:01 am-6 am Sat–Sun;
July–August:
12:01 am-6 am
first 6 months—no passengers; thereafter, no more than 2 passengers40 hours
Florida15 years16 years18 years11 pm-6 am (age 16);
1 am-5 am (age 17)
no restrictions 
Georgia15 years16 years18 yearsmidnight-6 am
* secondary enforcement
first 6 months—no passengers; second 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 21; thereafter, no more than 3 passengers
* secondary enforcement
40 hours
Hawaii15½ years16 years17 years11 pm-5 amno more than 1 passenger younger than 18 (household members excepted) 
Idaho14½ years15 years16 yearssunset to sunrisefirst 6 months—licensees 16 and younger can have no more than 1 passenger younger than 1750 hours
Illinois15 years16 years18 yearsSun-Thu: 10 pm-6 am,
Fri-Sat: 11 pm-6am
first 12 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 2050 hours
Indiana15½ years16½ years18 years
First 180 days: 10 pm-5 am;
Afterwards:
Sun–Fri: 11 pm-5 am;
Sat–Sun: 1 am-5 am
first 180 days-no passengers 
Iowa14 years16 years17 years
(with perfect driving record for first year, if not - 18 years)
12:30 am-5 amno restrictions20 hours
Kansas14 years15 years
(16 years less restricted)
17 years9 pm-5 amfirst 6 months - no more than one passenger younger than 1820 daytime and 5 night time hours
Kentucky16 years16½ years17 yearsmidnight-6 amno more than 1 passenger younger than 20 unless supervised by a driving instructor
* secondary enforcement
60 hours
Louisiana15 years16 years17 years11 pm-5 amno more than one passenger younger than 21 between the hours of 6 pm-5 am;
no passenger restriction from 5 am-6 pm (effective 01/01/11)
8 hours
Maine15 years16 years18 yearsmidnight-5 amfirst 180 days—no passengers35 hours
Maryland15 years, 9 months16½ years18 yearsmidnight-5 amfirst 5 months—no passengers younger than 18
* secondary enforcement
60 hours
Massachusetts16 years16½ years18 years12:30 am-5 amfirst 6 months—no passengers younger than 1840 hours
both night time driving- and passenger restrictions are secondarily enforced between 12:30 am-1 am and 4 am-5 am and primary inforced between 1 am-4 am
Michigan14 years, 8 months16 years17 yearsmidnight-5 amno restrictions50 hours
Minnesota15 years16 years18 yearsfirst 6 months—midnight-5 amfirst 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 20; second 6 months—no more than 3 passengers younger than 2030 hours
Mississippi15 years16 years16½ yearsSun-Thu: 10pm-6am,
Fri-Sat: 11:30pm-6am
no restrictions 
Missouri15½ years16 years18 years1 am-5 amfirst 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 19; thereafter, no more than 3 passengers younger than 1940 hours including 10 hours at night time
Montana14½ years15 years16 years11 pm-5 amfirst 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 18; second 6 months—no more than 3 passengers younger than 1850 hours
Nebraska15 years16 years17 yearsmidnight-6 am
* secondary enforcement
first 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 19
* secondary enforcement
50 hours
Nevada15½ years16 years18 years10 pm-5 am
* secondary enforcement
first 6 months—no passengers younger than 18
* secondary enforcement
50 hours
New Hampshire15½ years16 years18 years1 am-4 am (effective 01/01/11)first 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 25 
New Jersey16 years17 years21 years11 pm - 5 amno more than 1 passenger (exception is limited to drivers' dependents) 
New Mexico15 years15½ years16½ yearsmidnight-5 amno more than 1 passenger younger than 2150 hours
New York16 years16½ years17 years with driver's education ( otherwise 18)9 pm-5 amno more than 1 passenger younger than 21 
North Carolina15 years16 years18 years9 pm-5 amno more than 1 passenger younger than 21; if a family member younger than 21 is already a passenger then no other passengers younger than 21 who are not family members 
North Dakota14 years14½ years16 yearsno restrictionsno restrictions 
Ohio15½ years16 years18 yearsmidnight-6 am (age 16),
1 am-5 am (age 17)
* secondary enforcement
no more than 1 passenger unless supervised50 hours
Oklahoma15½ years16 years16½ years (with perfect driving record for first six months, if not, 18 years)10 pm-5 amno more than 1 passenger40 hours
Oregon15 years16 years18 yearsmidnight-5 amfirst 6 months – no passengers younger than 20;
second 6 months – no more than 3 passengers younger than 20
50 hours
Pennsylvania16 years16½ years17½ years (with perfect driving record for first year, if not, 18 years)11 pm-5 amno restrictions50 hours
Rhode Island16 years16½ years17½ years1 am-5 amfirst 12 months–no more than 1 passenger younger than 2150 hours
South Carolina15 years15½ years16½ years6 pm-6 am EST; 8 pm-6 am EDTno more than 2 passengers younger than 21 unless transporting students to and from school 
South Dakota14 years14 years, 3 months (with driver's education, otherwise: 14½ years16 years10 pm-6 amno restrictions 
Tennessee15 years16 years17 years11 pm-6 amno more than 1 passenger50 hours
Texas15 years16 years17 yearsmidnight-5 am
* secondary enforcement
no more than 1 passenger younger than 21
* secondary enforcement
 
Utah15 years16 years17 yearsmidnight-5 amfirst 6 months — no passengers
* secondary enforcement
40 hours
Virginia15½ years16 years, 3 months18 yearsmidnight-4 am
* secondary enforcement
first 12 months — no more than 1 passenger younger than 18;
thereafter - no more than 3 passengers younger than 18
* secondary enforcement
45 hours including 15 hours at night
Vermont15 years16 years16½ yearsno restrictionsfirst 3 months - no passengers without exception;
second 3 months - no passengers except family members
40 hours
Washington15 years16 years17 years (with perfect driving record for first year, or if not - 18 years)1 am-5 am
* secondary enforcement
first 6 months — no passengers younger than 20;
second 6 months — no more than 3 passengers younger than 20
* secondary enforcement
50 hours
West Virginia15 years16 years17 years10 pm - 5 amfirst 6 months — no passengers younger than 20;
second 6 months – no more than 1 passenger younger than 20
50 hours
Wisconsin15½ years16 years16 years and 9 monthsmidnight-5 amno more than 1 passenger30 hours
Wyoming14½ years16 years16½ years11 pm-5 amno more than 1 passenger younger than 1850 hours

* Secondary enforcement means that police must stop motorists for other violations first before enforcing this law.


© 2010 - 2015 Copyright by BorSystems Inc